NASW-VT welcomes member participation. The following is a list of our active committees, members, and a description of the general activities. Please email our Executive Director at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to learn more about how you can particpate on a committee.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee provides guidance to the Executive between Board meetings, develops the agenda for the Board meetings, and reviews preliminary budget and other financial proposals. They meet at the discretion of the President, usually quarterly.


  • Sarah Kunz Robinsonn
  • EuGene McCormick
  • Kate Van Wagner
  • Erin Ahearn

Ethics Committee

The Ethics Committee is charged with advising on ethical issues that arise and with assisting significantly in the planning of at least one ethics-related training per fiscal year.


  • Erin Ahearn
  • Karin Hammer
  • Barbara Surott-Kimberly

Education and Professional Development Committee

This committee ensures continuing education/professional development programs that meet the varied needs of social workers in the Chapter in both public and private practice and standards for continuing education consistent with the standards of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). In addition, the Committee plays a central role in identifying topics, speakers, sponsors, and exhibitors, and assists in planning and implementing the program of professional workshops for members and others. The Committee reviews workshop evaluations and makes recommendations for future workshops based on feedback from attendees.


  • John Gramuglia
  • EuGene T. McCormick
  • Kate Van Wagner

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee reviews policy issues that deserve the attention of legislators and other officials, and develops a set of priorities for the Chapter on an annual basis. Depending on the issues and opportunities at hand, members may provide testimony to legislative committees, help to draft proposed legislation, or monitor current bills and outcomes for the chapter.


  • Piper Clyborne
  • Elizabeth Coombs
  • Sarah Kunz Robinson
  • Melinda Rouille